Job Search… Complete!

So, last Friday was my graduation day at the Dojo. Armando was already on a plane back to Florida, so Leibel and I were the only two of our group around for the final presentation. I’ll write more about it later when I get back to the correct chronological order of my posts, but I must say this project week was a blast! It was great to have a third group member and the project was a really cool app of our choice this time, Slack!

Anyways, Leibel and I worked out some kinks in the morning, and we added a few extra bells and whistles in the early afternoon. Our final presentation went well, and in the ten minute break between presentations and the graduation ceremony, I took my phone out of my pocket and saw that I had a missed call from an unknown number.

Now, I should probably mention here that I had just had an interview the day before with the founder of a local startup. I left the interview thinking it was one of my best yet, but I’d thought that plenty of times before so my hopes were not high. Then again, I had been referred for this interview by a strong connection gained at Coding Dojo, so maybe my hopes were a bit higher than usual after all. Plus the position sounded way cooler than any other job I’d been pursuing so far.

Basically, the company has been chugging along for two years with a single developer (the founder) and it’s gotten to the point where it’s time to take on some extra help to continue growing. Being the second member on a two person dev team means I would need to wear a lot of hats, learn a whole bunch of stuff really quickly, and make significant contributions toward the company’s success! Sounds like a great opportunity to kickstart my professional career!

Back to last Friday, I quickly navigated through the kitchen to a quieter place in the Dojo and called back the unknown number. Turns out it was indeed the founder I interviewed with the day before, and he was calling to ask what questions I had about the offer letter he emailed me a couple hours ago! I told him I was just finishing up project presentations and hadn’t checked it yet, and I’d get back to him later. When I walked back out of the kitchen to the dojo crowd, I had a big grin on my face as I announced, “I got the job!”

A round of high-fives ensued. And then I graduated from Coding Dojo.

What’s next?

I must admit, I wasn’t expecting to reach the end of my job search so quickly! I didn’t get a chance to go through “career readiness week” at the dojo, and I hope I don’t regret missing it. I’m a bit nervous about starting on Monday, and I think I might have a bit of an imposter syndrome thing going on, but I’m still super excited to get to work. Most of all though, I’m totally pumped about getting the opportunity to work on a large variety of software! I’m going to be working with Rails, JavaScript, Objective-C, Swift, PostgreSQL and probably a bunch of other languages and frameworks for both web and mobile development. Can’t wait! 

I’ve got a couple more days left before the big first day on Monday, so I’m taking the time to refresh some skills and learn a few new ones too (trying to become a vim power user, among other things). I’ll try to keep the blog updated periodically, and I still want to finish up the last couple weeks of bootcamp posts, so keep an eye out for those. Until next time! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

