Day 17 – Ajax with Python

Today was a free day for me since I finished the wall early yesterday. After working with more strings in morning algorithms and then a quick lecture about MySQL, I went ahead and started working an optional section of the learning platform, Ajax with Python. I figured Ajax is pretty awesome and I could use some more experience setting it up in flask, so why not. I’ll start Django on schedule tomorrow.

Most of getting Ajax to work with Python was just a refresher on jQuery.  However, now that I’m sending and receiving requests with my own server files, I’m able to do some more complicated Ajax calls by actually directing requests at my own server. Using the new techniques I learned from the platform, I was able to convert my Wall assignment to run entirely on Ajax calls. It created a much smoother user experience since all changes to the database were now being reflected in real time upon user actions without the page refreshing and popping back up to the top. Ajax really is an integral part of web development. See the code for the converted Ajax Wall.

I also fiddled around with the Google Maps directions API for a bit. Responses were coming back frustratingly slow, but I eventually got the results I was looking for. The Google Maps directions API results were super huge and I was reminded that figuring out how to use APIs is all about iterative experimentation and reading documentation. I didn’t look into it much yet, but it seems like there must be a way to specify that you only want certain parts of the result in the API request. I could really use some more info about doing something like that. I don’t want to get sucked into researching all about APIs though so I’ll just not worry about it for now.

I’m excited to get started on Django, so I’m gonna keep this short!

3 thoughts on “Day 17 – Ajax with Python

    • I love Django! I think my opinion is probably not all that informed seeing as Django is the only framework I’ve really used enough so far, but from what I can tell it’s super awesome. I just started Ruby on Rails today, and while Rails can get a project up and running super quickly, I think that Django allows for more flexibility and control over what your project is doing in the background. I’ll be able to give a better answer after I finish the next two stacks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

