Day 6 – JavaScript

Finally we started getting into some good stuff today. In my opinion, logic is where the fun begins. JavaScript is definitely not my language of choice, but I think I’ve been getting used to it pretty well. The assignments today were mostly about practicing using and accessing different data structures, but at the end of the day we got into some basic DOM manipulation. This was the first time I had actually seen how JavaScript is used to change the content of a web page, and I must say, it’s pretty cool. I’m looking forward to getting into jQuery tomorrow since I think it will come in handy for simplifying writing JavaScript functionality quite a bit.

Instead of the usual morning algorithm session, today we had an algorithm quiz! It was a written quiz for “the basic 13,” which are the first few algorithms they told us to master asap on day 1. They expect us to be able to spit them all out in under two minutes each, so we had a time limit of 26 minutes for the quiz. I still can’t understand why people dread white-boarding so much because I think writing out functions like this is fun!

I got some bad news today. One of my buddies from the cohort decided to transfer to the next session. He was saying he felt he was too far behind and needed to brush up on the basics before he wanted to move on to JavaScript. I get it, he doesn’t want to throw away his investment by overwhelming himself when he’s not ready, but it’s a shame because he was a pretty chill dude and now the seat next to me is vacant. Oh well, I guess we still might get the chance to work together on something when he shows up in the next cohort.

Leave a Reply

